2023 World Series of Poker: Three events, four bracelet winners


2023 World Series of Poker, is now in the second half of its schedule, with 60 bracelets and more than $166.6 million in prize money awarded thus far. Below is a look at the most recent winners from this year’s series.

2023 WSOP $1,000 No-Limit Hold’em Tag Team

Michael Savakinas and Satoshi TanakaUsually, a WSOP the bracelet is only awarded when only one player remains in an event. That’s not the case at the annual $1,000 no-limit hold’em tag team event, with a pair of players taking the gold in this unique tournament that sees two contenders team up and take turns with the same stack. Satoshi Tanaka and Michael Savakinas were the last teams standing, overcoming a record field of 1,282 teams to secure their first bracelets and a $190,662 payout (or $95,331 each if split halves).

The two Ohio residents both earned their biggest live tournament paydays for this win. Tanaka’s best finish before this came when he finished second in a $400 no-limit hold’em freezeout event during 2020 WSOP on line festivals for $68,373. Savakinas’ previous high score had been a 17th place in WSOP Harrah’s Cherokee Circuit $1,700 main event this spring for $15,484.

Other teams that went deep included Joseph Cheong/Rob Perelman (14th), Justin Pechie/Ronnie Bardah (9th), David Williams/Theo Tran (7th) and Vincent Moscati/Tanner Bibat (2nd).

Here is a look at the winnings awarded at the final table:

Place Players Earnings
1 Michael Savakinas – Satoshi Tanaka $190,662
2 Vincent Moscati – Bibat tanner $117,872
3 Jonah LaBranche – Dustin Wills $85,040
4 Rickey Evans-Roberto Valdez $62,090
5 John Ventre-Kenneth Gallo $45,884
6 Marcus Stein-Ambra Donatelli $34,326
7 David Williams – Theo Tran $26,000
8 Carlos Inukai – Emmaniel Avila $19,942
9 Justin Pechie – Ronnie Bardah $15,492

2023 WSOP $2,500 Mixed Triple Draw Lowball

Nicholas Pupillo Nick Pupillo joined in 2023 WSOP $2,500 mixed triple-draw event with over $4.7 million in prior tournament winnings across 329 registered prizes. While he had 21 tournament titles to his credit, including three WSOP Circuit gold ring victories, he had never won a bracelet event at the series.

That all changed when Pupillo exited atop a field of 353 entries in the aforementioned triple draw tournament, which featured a mix of two-to-seven triple-draw lowball, ace-to-five triple-draw lowball, and badugi. Pupillo took home $181,978 and his first bracelet for the win.

Plenty of highly talented players joined Pupillo at the final tables, including Maria Ho (25th), Cary Katz (18th), four-time bracelet winner Robert Mizrachi (17th), five-time bracelet winner John Monnette bracelet (16th), two-time bracelet winner Joao Vieira (10th), five-time ring winner Ray Henson (9th), bracelet winner Andrew Brown (8th), two-time bracelet Anatolii Zyrin (7th) and two-time _World Poker Tour champion Aaron Mermelstein (3rd ).

Here’s a look at payments and POY extension points awarded at the final table:

Place Player Earnings POY extension Points
1 Nicholas Pupillo $181,978 900
2 Ryan Moriarty $112,472 750
3 Aaron Mermelstein $74,545 600
4 Tomomitsu Ono $50,608 450
5 Hye Park $35,212 375
6 Brant Hale $25,126 300
7 Anatolii Zyrin $18,398 225

2023 WSOP Online $1,000 PLO extension Championship

Stanislav Barshak The ninth WSOP on line bracelet delivered to WSOPThe .com players located within the Nevada and New Jersey borders were earned by Stanislav Barshak. He earned his first bracelet and $128,842 for outlasting a field of 383 entries in the $1,000 buy-in pot-limit Omaha event.

This was Barshak’s first six-figure tournament score. Prior to that, his best finish was a fourth place in 2012 WPT Denmark event for $68,361. The Illinois resident now has more than $750,000 cashed in his name.

Big names who made money in this event included 2013 WSOP main event champion Ryan Reiss (36th), 2021 WSOP main event champion Koray Aldemir (34th), 2017 PokerStars Bahamas Championship main event winner Christian Harder (33rd), Shannon Shorr (32nd), bracelet winner Steve Gross (21st), recent online bracelet winner Ian Matakis (29th), bracelet winner Nacho Barbero ( 27th), six-time bracelet winner Shaun Deeb (26th ), three-time bracelet winner Jim Collopy (22nd), three-time bracelet winner Dan Zack 94th) and runner-up Chris DeMaci.

Here is a look at the winnings awarded at the final table:

Place Player Earnings
1 Stanislav Barshak $128,842
2 Christopher DeMaci $79,040
3 Chris Leslie-Hynan $54,655
4 Daniel Zack $38,398
5 Pranay Kapoor $27,418
6 Jonathan Depa $19,896
7 Carlos Alvarado $14,740
8 Kristof Segers $11,101
9 Vincent Moscati $8,492

Visit the Card Player 2023 World Series of Poker page for schedules, news, interviews, and the latest results from the event. WSOP coverage sponsored by Global Poker.

Winner photo credits: WSOP / Spenser Sembrat, Rachel Kay Miller.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *