Public voting for the 2023 Poker Hall Of Fame nominations is now open


THE World Series of Poker has opened public voting for the 2023 Poker Hall of Fame inductee class.

“Players and fans are encouraged to do so introduce their candidate of choicealong with a brief explanation describing why their candidate should be chosen for the honour.

Applicants must be presented on lineand will be accepted until 18 June. The top 10 voters will then be reviewed by the Poker Hall of Fame’s Board of Directors to ensure they all meet the criteria.

The criteria for being inducted into the Poker Hall of Fame are as follows:

• Be at least 40 years old
• Played for high stakes against recognized competition
• He played consistently well, earning the respect of his teammates
• Passed the test of time
• Or, for non-players, contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker, with incredible positive and lasting results

The 2023 inductee will be chosen from the 31 living room members and announced on Thursday, July 13 at the annual Poker Hall Of Fame Bounty event at WSOP.

Last year, the honor went to the late Layne Flack, who became the 61st member ever. The six-time bracelet winner passed away in 2021 and beat out nine other nominees including players Bertrand ‘ElkY’ Grospellier, Brian Rast, Josh Arieh, Kathy Liebert, Michael Mizrachi, Mike Matusow, as well as PokerStars founder Isai Scheinberg, WPT Director Matt Savage and WSOP commentary duo Lon McEachern and Norman Chad.

Here’s a look at all the current Poker Hall of Fame inductees:

First name Posted
Johnny Moss 1979
Nick “The Greek” Dandolos 1979
Felton “Corky” McCorquodale 1979
Red Winn 1979
Sid Wyman 1979
James Butler “Wild Bill” Hickok 1979
Edmund Hoyle 1979
Forbes blonde 1980
Bill Boyd 1981
Tom Abdo 1982
Joe Bernstein 1983
Murphy Harold 1984
Red Hodge 1985
Henry Green 1986
Walter Clyde “Puggy” Pearson 1987
Doyle “Texas Dolly” Brunson 1988
Jack “Treetop” Straus 1988
Fred “Sarge” Ferris 1989
Benny Binion 1990
David “Chip” Reese 1991
Thomas “Amarillo Slim” Preston 1992
Jack Keller 1993
Julius Orale Popwell 1996
Roger Moore 1997
Stu “The Kid” Ungar 2001
Lyle Bermann 2002
Johnny “The Orient Express” Chan 2002
Bobby “The Owl” Baldwin 2003
Berry Johnston 2004
Jack Binion 2005
Crandell Addington 2005
TJ Cloutier 2006
Billy Baxter 2006
Barbara Enright 2007
Phil Hellmuth 2007
Dewey Tomko 2008
Henry Orenstein 2008
Mike Sexton 2009
Dan Harrington 2010
Erik Seidel 2010
Linda Johnson 2011
Barry Greenstein 2011
Eric Drache 2012
Bryan “Sailor” Roberts 2012
Scotty Nguyen 2013
Tom McEvoy 2013
Daniele Negreanu 2014
Jack McClelland 2014
Jennifer Harmann 2015
John Juanda 2015
Charles Mortensen 2016
Tod Brunson 2016
David “Devilfish” Ulliott 2017
Phil Ivy 2017
John Hennigan 2018
Mori Eskandan 2018
Chris Moneymaker 2019
David Oppenheim 2019
Seed Huck 2020
Eli Elezra 2021
Layne Flack 2022

You can follow 2023 World Series of Poker ON Card player landing page series, brought to you by Global Poker. Check out the series schedule, event recaps, news, and player interviews.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *